15 March 2019


Benztown, a global leader in radio imaging, voiceover, programming and jingles, today released its fifth annual Benztown 50 List of Radio’s Biggest Imaging Voices, the radio industry’s exclusive listing of the top 50 voiceover artists in the U.S. and Canada. Benztown enlisted P1 Media Group to compile and analyze industry data that was the foundation for the list.

The Benztown 50 list for 2018 reflects increased industry participation and interest, with more than 300 U.S. and Canadian radio groups providing information for this prestigious annual list. The Benztown 50 was analyzed and evaluated by P1 Media Group’s proprietary algorithm, and is based on several criteria, including number of radio station affiliates, station size and market.

A special highlight of this year’s Benztown 50 is the first-ever presentation of the voiceover industry’s newest and now highest honor, the Benztown Iconic Voice

Award for Lifetime Achievement in Voiceover, which will be presented to legendary voiceover talent, Chris Corley. Corley is best known for his work as the voice of FOX, MLB, Discovery Channel, Nickelodeon and the Broadway show and tour of Book of Mormon. His illustrious 36-year audio career includes on-air positions at top radio stations in markets including: Winston-Salem, NC; Greensboro, NC; Charlotte, NC; Fort Myers, FL; Nashville, TN; Norfolk-Virginia Beach, VA; Atlanta, GA; Los Angeles, CA. Corley’s distinctive voice has also been heard on some of the biggest television stations in the U.S., including stations in New York City, San Francisco, Denver, Washington, DC, and his hometown of Fort Myers, FL. He has also voiced numerous commercials and movie trailers for major films including: The Punisher; Milk; Ghostbusters (the recent all-female remake); Twilight; Jack and Jill; Bad Santa (1 and 2); Couples Retreat; Best Exotic Marigold Hotel; The Bank Job; and many others.

Dave “Chachi” Denes, President of Benztown, said: “We launched the Benztown 50 five years ago to celebrate the top voiceover professionals in our industry and highlight the important role that voiceover talent plays in building powerful radio brands. The value of voiceover has never been more critical to radio, in a listening environment that is more competitive than ever. As an industry leader in producing high quality radio voiceover, imaging and audio branding, Benztown is proud to recognize our industry’s most accomplished voiceover talent across the U.S. and Canada. We congratulate the talented people who comprise this year’s Benztown 50, and honor them for their excellence and leadership in audio branding.”

Denes added: “It is our incredible privilege to present five-time Benztown 50 honoree Chris Corley with the first-ever Benztown Iconic Voice Award for his monumental contributions to our industry and profession through his incredible body of voiceover work. Chris is truly a voiceover icon, in every sense of the word, and sets the highest standards for all voiceover professionals today and in the future. We congratulate him and look forward to celebrating his career achievements in L.A. next week with his friends and colleagues.”

The following voiceover professionals comprise this year’s Benztown 50. Chris Corley and the 2018 Benztown 50 will be honored at a reception next Thursday, March 28th, at the Worldwide Radio Summit in Burbank, CA.

To view the list online, please visit:

2018 Benztown 50 (in alphabetical order):

Ann DeWig

Austin Keyes

Beth Cameron

Blaze Berdahl

Brian Christopher

Brian Lee

Chad Erickson

Cousin Deke

Damon Oaks

Dave Foxx

Dave Kampel

David Kaye

Donna Frank

Dr. Dave Ferguson

George W. Robinson

Harry Legg

Heather Walters

Jake Kaplan

Jeff Berlin

Jeff Laurence

Jen Sweeney

Jim Cutler

Jim Merkel

Joanna Stadwiser

Joe Cipriano

John Pleisse

John Reilly

John Willyard

Josh Goodman

Jude Corbett

Jules Riley

Kelly Doherty

Lisa Keys

Lynn Hoffman

Malcolm Ryker

Melody Sharp

Neil Wilson

Pat Garrett

Pete Gustin

Rachel McGrath

Rena-Marie Villano

Rich Van Slyke

Roberta Solomon

Scott Fisher

Scott Matthews

Sean Caldwell

Steve Kamer

Steve Stone

Steve Taylor

Wendy K Gray

Share on social media:

previous blog post


previous post

next blog post


next post

Get back to the main blog page

back to blogs